Author Topic: reloading 30-06  (Read 4721 times)

Offline stka

• 30 Point Buck
reloading 30-06
« on: Aug 11, 2008, 08:27:48 AM »
I just started shooting my new Ruger M77MKII 30-06. I know it's not the most accurate rifle ever made, but my longest shot around here is 200-300 yds max so It should perform fine for what I need right?. My uncle just started getting back into reloading, and I just started. We found the tightest group with a 165gr boattail was about maximum charge at 52.5 grains of 4064. My problem is that I get 2/3 rounds nice but one is 1.5-2" out at 100yds. Any opinions? I know I don't flinch, but I'm also not an accomplished marksmen, all my deer have been talking with a bow so far. What should I try next, other than shooting more often?

Offline JKneibel

• Spiked
Re: reloading 30-06
« Reply #1 on: Aug 11, 2008, 09:27:02 AM »
I reload as well, and sometimes that flier is just a product of not making every shell exactly the same.  Whether it be case length, powder charge, or shoulder angles.  You gotta make sure you are very careful to make each shell exactly the same.  Its all about consistency.  Thats why factory ammo is not the greatest to use. Good Luck. 
Pick a spot, squeeze the trigger...

Offline stka

• 30 Point Buck
« Reply #2 on: Aug 11, 2008, 09:57:32 AM »
Thanks for the reply. I was wondering if we were missing something. I know I was getting an accurate charge, but that's the only thing I was sure of. I'll take a pair of calipers to the loaded shells I've got and see how close they are, any idea what the tolerance should be?
« Last Edit: Aug 11, 2008, 09:59:22 AM by stka »

Offline JKneibel

• Spiked
« Reply #3 on: Aug 11, 2008, 02:43:26 PM »