Author Topic: Turkey hunting evenings  (Read 7902 times)

Offline Rebelfisher

• 6 Pointer
  • Kill Many Things!!
Turkey hunting evenings
« on: Mar 18, 2011, 07:07:06 PM »
Since this year is Pa's first gobbler hunt that allows all day hunting starting two weeks after openning day, Im new to hunting them in the evening...other than locating their roosting spots, anyone else have any tips for a late afternoon hunt?
If its BROWN...Its DOWN!!!      If it FLYS...It DIES!!!

Offline rjhulbert

• 6 Pointer
Re: Turkey hunting evenings
« Reply #1 on: Mar 18, 2011, 08:49:50 PM »
well we don't get to at all but before lately on getting more property i always scout for their pattern all day I have found that "my birds" on my main property have a huge circle they travel and 3 different roosting spots so I get there a 3-4 hours before roosting and find them and put them to bed works great for roosting but for taking them the next morning well lets just say they like to almost always out move me lol

Offline WhiteTail Madness

• 6 Pointer
  • Watch your step.......
« Reply #2 on: Mar 18, 2011, 09:27:32 PM »
I do a LOT of spot and stalk techniques from later afternoon until dark......  That is if I cant get em to respond to calls.
White tail madness... ALL .....YEAR....LONG!!<br /><br />aka Mr. Vexilar (IS) Steelie Slayer (MFF)

Offline dan_lais

• 6 Pointer
  • can't wait for May 1st!!!
« Reply #3 on: Mar 18, 2011, 11:54:12 PM »