Author Topic: Fungus guide ???  (Read 5285 times)

Offline Wkules

• Forked
  • Always be sure of your target!
Fungus guide ???
« on: Oct 23, 2005, 09:12:22 PM »
I am new to this "sport" and don't really know what I am doing. I do realize that some "shrooms" are deadly and do not want to take any chances. Any tips you veteran shroomers could give me would be greatly appreciated. For instance what is the best field guide, desk reference, and etc. I have "The Ultimate Mushroom Book" by Peter Jordan & Steven Wheeler, copyright 2002. It seems to be pretty good as it has color photograghs and boasts being a complete A-Z guide plus 100 recipes!
I just wanted to hear from some folks that are experienced and may have some tips for a novice like myself. In case it matters I live in Western New York. One thing my book isn't overly clear on is what times of year are good to find the different species of mushroom in different geographic locations.
Nothing better than dawn in the field!

Offline pointer103

• Nubbie
Re: Fungus guide ???
« Reply #1 on: Oct 24, 2005, 04:25:53 PM »
I use the Audubon Society's field guide to mushrooms.
Great pictures and descriptions.
Also points out lookalikes.

Offline Wkules

• Forked
« Reply #2 on: Oct 24, 2005, 08:22:56 PM »
I'll give it a look, Thanks a lot pointer!

Offline Icedude

• Nubbie
« Reply #3 on: Oct 24, 2005, 08:24:55 PM »
yep thats the book i have its great

Offline pointer103

• Nubbie
« Reply #4 on: Oct 25, 2005, 06:10:03 PM »
Wkules,

The easiest to discern in the fall are the hen of the woods, oysters, and chicken mushrooms.
In the spring look for morels. I have better luck finding them in areas that have been burnt in 1-4 years ago.
These are all "choice" mushrooms.
Beware of LBM's (little brown mushrooms) unless you've got somebody knowledgeable to help you identify them.
There are lots more, but these are my favorites.

Offline Wkules

• Forked
« Reply #5 on: Oct 25, 2005, 08:22:21 PM »
Thanks again pointer,