Author Topic: "Just ASK" fails  (Read 2477 times)

Offline NorthvilleNewbie

• 6 Pointer
"Just ASK" fails
« on: Jul 25, 2011, 11:45:45 AM »
Since I'm just getting started with the sport, the one burning question in the back of my mind at all times is, "Where to hunt?"

I've been reluctant to say, "state land" and say that's that. Relative exclusitvity, personal safety concerns and low deer numbers in the Adirondacks proper, have left me searching for a private alternative. In recent months, I've attempted to access every known resource of friends and family who own possible hunting lands. With a few leads, this has resulted in hilarious let-downs, funny conversations with landowners and such. Here are a few:

1.) My babysitter, who appeared to have a huge lot behind her house says, "Ohhhh yeah! You can hunt there in the fall, go ahead!" I check the county tax map, and measure. The lot is less that 300 feet from the home, and not nearly safe to fire a rifle in most directions. Back to the drawing board...

2.) Using the tax map, I attempt to call her adjacent neighbors to gain access to the lots in the safer directionsI always make it a point to speak crisply, with a honeyed tone-of-voice, and clearly identify myself at the start of the phone call. All the neighbors claim they sold their land (which isn't true, because I'm looking at this year's tax data) or they don't allow hunting on the land because other hunters have, "messed it all up before,"

3.) Had a lead on some farmland in WMU, 6R. A family friend tells me, "Oh sure!! My father's farm! He'll let you go up there, he's sick of all the geese that show up anyways." I get ahold of this family friend later in the summer for anticipation in the fall, and she says, "oh I asked my father about it, he's really leery of hunting there now, because he's had some bad experiences with hunters before." I said thanks anyways, and I appreciated it, and I didn't wanna press it.