Author Topic: Vermont Turkey Hunting  (Read 4109 times)

Offline ChattNFHunter

• Nubbie
Vermont Turkey Hunting
« on: Jan 23, 2015, 09:55:39 AM »
Hey guys.  I'm a college student at the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga and me and my roommate are getting ready for graduation in the next year.  We have decided to go on a DIY out of state Turkey hunt this May as a kind of last "Hoorah" so we started researching places to go.  Problem was we don't get out of school for summer until May 5th and many state's seasons are either winding down or are already over. However, when we saw many Northern states had seasons that were just starting around that time, we settled on Vermont as our destination.  We are planning to start our trip around the Rutland area, but we are pretty much going to free float around for the week wherever we decide to go. 

After the back story, I just have a few questions I was hoping maybe some of y'all could help us out with.

1. What public lands can you hunt? 
     - The Green Mountain NF
     - All State Forests?
     - All WMA's
     - Town Forests and City Forests?
     - National Recreation Areas? (ex: Robert T. Stafford White Rocks)
     - Any State Parks?
  Anything from this list that I am missing that could be a potential public land hunting opportunity?

2. If we are in the woods fairly deep and we are hunting but also carrying fishing poles, after the 12 PM cut off are we allowed to fish for the rest of the day while toting our shotguns unloaded or do we have to bring them back to the truck to continue fishing?

3. In reality, what are the chances for us, being two out of state hunters, to come up there and be able to obtain permission to hunt private land?  Are most landowners receptive to turkey hunters?