Author Topic: An Old Friend(Bow)  (Read 5810 times)

Offline CAPTJJ

• Non-typical 13 Pointer
  • Bowhunter
    • Rod Bender Charters, Lake George, NY
An Old Friend(Bow)
« on: Mar 21, 2013, 03:53:18 PM »
Getting ready to got a trip West for turkeys and of course I want to bring a back up bow; needed one for the first time last Fall in Ohio. Been thinking about a new compound but hesitated because I want to start hunting with recurves at some point. So I started shooting my 10 year old Martin Altitude, had put a new string on it and shoot it once or twice a year. This bow is tiny but it just shoots easy for some reason; have a few robin hoods with it, last one at 50yds. I ended up putting on the newer sight, rest and stabilizer from the bow with the cracked limb; like it even more now. I don't need a new bow to kill anything, that's for sure; usually shoot under 20 yds when hunting, anyway.

This bow is great in a tree or on the ground, light and maneuverable; a true lap bow:

First bowkills with this bow: buck(and deer), black bear, coyote, turkey(Fall hen)

Thinking about adding a string stop and maybe a camera mount.
Its always archery season. >>>---------->
Hybrid longbow in hand.

Offline loonyone

• Non-typical 13 Pointer
Re: An Old Friend(Bow)
« Reply #1 on: Mar 21, 2013, 03:56:43 PM »
well thats cool looking....I still haven/t gotten to use my bow yet.....brand spankin new and no used....maybe this year!

Offline peddler

• 10 Pointer
  • FREE DROBS
« Reply #2 on: Mar 21, 2013, 03:57:20 PM »
Good luck JJ

Peddler  8)  8)  8)
Peddler

Offline drobertsinMaryland

• 30 Point Buck
« Reply #3 on: Mar 21, 2013, 04:59:55 PM »
Your old friend will be happy to make the trip. 8)

Offline Raquettedacker

• Cactus Buck
« Reply #4 on: Mar 21, 2013, 06:47:34 PM »
Looks like you have it all covered................   ;D
"Dying is the easy part. Learning how to live is the hard part..."

Offline CAPTJJ

• Non-typical 13 Pointer
  • Bowhunter