Author Topic: Deer scents  (Read 4483 times)

Offline Dr. IceGeek

• Forked
Deer scents
« on: Sep 29, 2005, 08:45:55 PM »
I was just wondering what everyone uses for scents during the bow season.  I've been using Kishels scents for a few years with really good success.  I've had many good bucks come into their doe in heat urine during pre-rut and rut.  For me the Kishels stuff works really good and I think because they are collected locally near the area I hunt that maybe that is one reason they seem to work so much better than the other brands I've tried in the past.  Just curious what everyone uses and why

Offline MASTERGUIDE

• 6 Pointer
Re: Deer scents
« Reply #1 on: Sep 30, 2005, 02:26:45 AM »
yeah, getting it local is good, I think it makes it seem more real, I don't really have much of a preference on scents yet, becuase I am always trying new ones to see which ones I like, and I have not tried them all yet so I can't say, but many kinds are good scents.

MASTERGUIDE

Offline DeerHunterTommer

• Forked
« Reply #2 on: Oct 04, 2005, 12:32:43 PM »
Tinks 69 has got to be the best sent for any time close to or during the rut. there is just something about it that makes it work.
i know people who will swear by it.

Offline MASTERGUIDE

• 6 Pointer
« Reply #3 on: Oct 04, 2005, 02:48:46 PM »
I like some of the wildlife research scents, the deer seem to take an interest in them.

MASTERGUIDE

Offline Dr. IceGeek

• Forked
« Reply #4 on: Oct 04, 2005, 06:05:41 PM »
I've used Tinks and in my area I swear the Kishels stuff works much better.  I also had pretty good luck with the tinks when I used it, but the last 3 years I'm 3 for 3 during bow season using Kishels....all 3 times the deer came into my scents and stopped to sniff where my scent drag went or actually sniffed the wick hanging off of a branch.  Kishels will be getting my money from now on.

Offline adkRoy

• 12 Pointer
  • Beware, the Ghost Deer are going to get you!!!!