Hunting by Game/Technique > Predator Calling
Bait or Call? Day or night?
(1/5) > >>
trying to get my first:
I have SO many dogs on the land i Hunt its not even funny its killing my deer heard. I saw one last week while deer hunting couldn't get a shot off. So my question is I'm new to yote hunting. Do you bait them and sit and wait right before dark. Or break the bank get a electronic caller and call those suckers in. Thanks for the help!
Raquettedacker:
I would do both...    And you can get a Johnny Stewart call for $100...    Calling on a full moon with snow on the ground is fun...
bone_and_beard:
cabelas has wireless fox pros on sale for 120 bucks they work very well.
aquaassassin:
I keep it simple and cheap and do extremly well. Mouth calls from Johnny stewart Pc-1 and 3 I think I have. Also the flextone all in distress rabbit. I have the long range Mick Lacy too probably my favorite it sounds the best to me but have killed the most with the green Stewart one. I don't use any bait. sunup is best for me with a dusk in second. In the winter they come in all day though. Never stay more than an hour. if they arent there in a hr. they won't come. Says so on all the videos too. I do most of my hunting in the woods most do it in fields though. I use my Benelli Supernova 12 ga. mostly with a Carlsons dead coyote choke and hevi shot coyote loads. It is a lot of fun and helps your deer at the same time. Never saw a single one this year..........
stka:
No need to break the bank on an electronic call. Cheack this one out, we made 2-3 of them and they work very well. A big plus is that you can download and edit your own calls.http://www.varmintal.com/ahunt.htm#El-Cheapo The whole site is good, but the call is worth making for sure.

--- Quote from: Raquettedacker on Nov 15, 2012, 05:55:00 PM ---    Calling on a full moon with snow on the ground is fun...

--- End quote ---