Author Topic: what kind of shape do you feel the herd in N.H.is in  (Read 9303 times)

Offline turkey nuts

• Forked
what kind of shape do you feel the herd in N.H.is in
« on: Dec 07, 2008, 01:13:45 PM »
like i posted in another topic..i'm very concerned that herd may be in jeopardy ..i have spoken to many hunters in the bear brook area ..and consistantly the stories are the same the numbers are not there.sightings are way down as well as sign not being apparent..before the season started f&g stated that the kill this year was expected to be down andi'm sure its down more than expected.... i sure hope they are accurate in their assesments of the herd. i have been hunting this area for 27 years and have never seen it like this before..like i said i would rather lose a season or two than lose our sport all together....whats your oppinionon our herd?

Offline huntr-

• 6 Pointer
Re: what kind of shape do you feel the herd in N.H.is in
« Reply #1 on: Dec 07, 2008, 04:10:24 PM »
Boy we are on the exact same page. I said the same thing a few months ago. The F&G did a 180 late this summer saying just the opposite of what was said in the spring time. We all knew  that the herd took a hard hit this past winter. I too would be in favor of a year or two to bring the herd #s  back up. I wish we could find out the reason for the about face that they said.  I myself did not see the same  #s as I have in the past few years.

Offline CJS - NH

• Nubbie
« Reply #2 on: Dec 07, 2008, 07:07:14 PM »
Did F+G lie about the shape of the herd -- sure -- it is all about license sales. It is the way they fund themselves. If they had said we had a very bad winter and the kill will be way down and the hunting fair to poor they would loose big money in the sale of all type of licenses. After the kill started to come in they had to acknowledge it. Anyone who thought about it at all knew last winter was very bad. Probably a little dishonest on the part of F+G but I am not shocked -- I get it.