Author Topic: Bait or Call? Day or night?  (Read 36044 times)

Offline trying to get my first

• 6 Pointer
Bait or Call? Day or night?
« on: Nov 15, 2012, 05:48:30 PM »
I have SO many dogs on the land i Hunt its not even funny its killing my deer heard. I saw one last week while deer hunting couldn't get a shot off. So my question is I'm new to yote hunting. Do you bait them and sit and wait right before dark. Or break the bank get a electronic caller and call those suckers in. Thanks for the help!

Offline Raquettedacker

• Cactus Buck
Re: Bait or Call? Day or night?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 15, 2012, 05:55:00 PM »
I would do both...    And you can get a Johnny Stewart call for $100...    Calling on a full moon with snow on the ground is fun...
"Dying is the easy part. Learning how to live is the hard part..."

Offline bone_and_beard

• 6 Pointer
« Reply #2 on: Nov 27, 2012, 05:49:50 PM »
cabelas has wireless fox pros on sale for 120 bucks they work very well.

Offline aquaassassin

• 30 Point Buck
  • AIM SMALL... MISS SMALL
« Reply #3 on: Nov 27, 2012, 06:24:10 PM »
I keep it simple and cheap and do extremly well. Mouth calls from Johnny stewart Pc-1 and 3 I think I have. Also the flextone all in distress rabbit. I have the long range Mick Lacy too probably my favorite it sounds the best to me but have killed the most with the green Stewart one. I don't use any bait. sunup is best for me with a dusk in second. In the winter they come in all day though. Never stay more than an hour. if they arent there in a hr. they won't come. Says so on all the videos too. I do most of my hunting in the woods most do it in fields though. I use my Benelli Supernova 12 ga. mostly with a Carlsons dead coyote choke and hevi shot coyote loads. It is a lot of fun and helps your deer at the same time. Never saw a single one this year..........
It's not being cocky if you can back it up!

Offline stka

• 30 Point Buck
« Reply #4 on: Nov 27, 2012, 06:38:18 PM »